Before You Wipe Your Phone

Wiping Devices

Wiping iPhones and iPads

Step 1: Before starting the reset, unpair your Apple Watch (if you have one) from your iPhone. To do this, keep your Apple Watch and iPhone close together, open the Apple Watch app on your iPhone, go to My Watch, click the information symbol next to the watch, and click the red Unpair Apple Watch on the bottom of the screen that appears.

Step 2: Turn off Find My iPhone. Go to Settings > [Your Name] (Apple ID) > iCloud > Find My iPhone and toggle off.

Step 3: Turn off and sign out of iCloud, iTunes, and the App Store.

Step 4: It’s at this point that you might want to sign out of all apps and accounts on your phone, such as those for social media.

Step 5: Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings. You need to enter your Apple ID or password or your device password. Enter and tap Erase [iPhone/iPad].

Step 6: Remove the device from your Apple account at appleid.apple.com.

Step 7: Make sure the activation lock is turned off. This feature on iOS devices can be turned on remotely which prevents anyone from reactivating a reset phone. It’s often turned on when a phone has been stolen, to prevent it from being reused. But if it’s turned on, it will mean that the recycler will also be unable to reactivate the phone without your Apple ID and password. If they receive a device in this condition, sellers will ask you to remotely deactivate the activation lock (this can be done online through your iCloud account) and may reduce the offered price if you fail to do this promptly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *